Feedback and evaluation are necessary aspects of school and work, but many people dislike being evaluated. What are the causes of this problem? How could it be solved?

Throughout a person's life from school to work, they definitely face various stages of evaluation. Although feedback and assessment are prerequisite for both educational and professional perspectives, a lot of people do not prefer to be judged by others. That's why the positive impacts of evaluation and feedback from responsible persons should be emphasized at both schools and organizations. It is clear that the educational process could not be fully accomplished without getting feedback from teachers about students for their parents. Similarly, when those students become adults and begin their professional life, the same take place, but instead of teachers, there are colleagues and employers. Naturally, humans dislike being evaluated because of many reasons. Firstly, at school, children usually have the fear of punishment from parents if they get low grades in exams, for example. Apart from that, they prefer to be free from any obligatory commitment doing tasks. Secondly, at work, employees get under the judgement of their peers and direct managers, which in some cases might be unfair from their point of view. However, the purpose of evaluation mainly works in the favor of people being assessed. Educators and employers should clarify the objectives behind this operation. Teachers in schools, for instance, have to guide children to plan for their future projects based on the evaluation results. By doing so, young people, themselves, will be encouraged to be assessed. On the other side, managers at work should take the responsibility to motivate their subordinates and provide them with the required training sessions according to the results of assessment. In conclusion, while feedback and evaluation might not be preferred by some individuals, they have favorable influence on students and employees as well.