Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists, not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract local people.

The number of local people paid a visit to museums and historical places are significantly lower than that of number of the non-locals. Several reasons led to this issue and some actions should be taken to address this. It is understandable why many residents are not visiting their locally historical places. First off, school education have offered history knowledge to people, which brought a familiarity to their culture and history. As a result, people might have lost their interest in exploring the stories and old things persevered in museums and other historical zones. For example, school curriculums nowadays are embedded with a great number of high quality pictures of historical sites and things, which enables students to learn more effectively but might deters them from visiting these places to see directly. Second, visiting those places are costly to certain extent to the indigenous. Because maintaining fee and service fee of these places are considered as expensive resulting in the low level of interest among the locals. Some solutions should be considered to alleviate the situation. On the one hand, state government can hold several entrance free of charge days such as national holidays to attract local people. On the other hand, along with the existence of history books, school can provide field trips for students and their parents to get to know more local history together. By this way, young people do not get bored easily with historical subjects but also have longer memories about this knowledge and be proud of the past when they get a chance to learn by their eyes. In conclusion, many people are not visiting historical places where they reside as much as tourists are. Free entrance and field trip with peers would be a solution to address the current situation.