Families who do not send their children to government financed schools should not be required to pay taxes that support universal education with this statement

Most countries expect their citizens to pay tax for public universal education. Some households might not have children or might send their children to private-run schools. However, they are forced to pay taxes to support state education which leads them to believe they should not. Schools, in general, require a tremendous amount of funds to function smoothly. Public schools managed by the government depend solely on the taxes of its citizen. Most of the students in public schools come from low-income families and therefore cannot afford private-funded schools. If government schools were to shut down, the students will not be able to acquire an education. This, in turn, would cause inequality among the young children of the nation. Taxes are a method to contribute to society in a constructive way for infrastructure, research and development. Individuals should not refuse to pay tax merely because they are not using the government service. For instance, many do not use public transport as they own a private vehicle. This does not mean they could be exempt from paying those taxes. A good government funded education system leads to a well informed and knowledgeable country. One of the major reasons for the increase in literacy rate in western countries is due to their universal education system. This affects the country' s overall development and boosts its economy and thereby increasing the standard of living of a nation. In conclusion, the government should be responsible for providing a well-rounded education to its people and financially support them when needed.