Failure is proof that the desire wasn t strong enough

There is a lot of debate about who should pay for recreational facilities in local communities. Although some people believe the business sector should provide these facilities, it is my opinion that this is the role of government. Some people think that companies should do more to support local communities. By providing sports and social facilities, it is argued that companies can directly benefit communities. Sports facilities will mean the local people are healthier and social facilities will provide meeting places and cultural attractions which will enrich people’s lives. However, it is likely that companies will see this as a way to advertise and may build facilities simply to improve the image of their brand. To illustrate, a recent study conducted by the Joint Economic Committee has revealed that more than a half of local sport and social facilities are privately funded. Personally, I believe that the government should be responsible for providing recreational facilities. If they are provided by the government, facilities can be ad-free, aimed solely at improving life in the community. Taxes on businesses could be used to fund these facilities, but the building and maintenance should be carried out by the authorities. All local businesses could be taxed, which would be more effective than just a few companies providing facilities. This solution provides facilities that will improve the community and are paid for by the business sector. In conclusion, it is debatable whether the government or the local businesses are responsible for building local recreational facilities. Personally, it is better for the authorities to provide recreational facilities as businesses use them mainly for personal advertising.