Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, whereas now many suffer loneliness and health problems. What are the causes of this and what are some solutions? hect

Owing to the sedentary lifestyle, people these days hardly get involved in physical activities which eventually makes them unhealthy. The main reason for this is the surge in the work pressures and household responsibilities. To combat this issue, companies are required to organize fitness events and there is a need for active participation by the employees. The crucial reason for the less involvement of people in a physical workout is the excessive workload and busy schedules. To elaborate, they usually work for 9 to 10 hours, and rest of the time consumed in travelling on congested roads, leaving minimal or no time for exercise. As a consequence, they get prone to various diseases such as obesity, high blood pressure and muscular strains. For instance, research by the 'Healthcare Association', in India more than 40% of the people working in multinational companies are suffering from obesity. Therefore, there is no doubt that a busy lifestyle is certainly affecting the health of people adversely. In order to alleviate this problem, various measures are required. The first and foremost is that companies should organize some events to make their employees fit and healthy. Such as Fit for life event is organized by TCS which ensures the engagement of its employees in various physical events such as running, dancing and yoga. Moreover, people should also get aware of the serious repercussions of the lack of exercise and make exercise as part of their daily regime. Thus, it is appropriate to say that workout has become need of an hour. In conclusion, there is a lack of exercise in most of the working people due to their packed schedules. To remedy this problem, energetic events should be organised by companies and participation should be made mandatory.