Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, whereas now many suffer loneliness and health problems. What are the causes of this and what are some solutions?

In the past, the elderly led a healthier and happier life. But, nowadays the situation has changed significantly. There are various possible reasons behind this emerging issues related to loneliness in older people's lives. However, there are some combating strategies to tackle the problem wisely. Being alone is not a new phenomenon. People of all ages and nationalities face it from time to time. While loneliness can affect all people, the older people are the worst hit by this problem. Part of this problem can be attributed to the rise of nuclear families. Families all over the world are becoming smaller and smaller. While youngsters who spend a considerable part of their away from home have plenty of opportunities to socialize, their older parents and grandparents have few outing options which severely limit their chances of interacting with other people. Old age is also a period of physical inactivity. Few older people even bother to step out of their home. To overcome loneliness older people must keep themselves engaged in meaningful activities. They can go a walk in the morning or in the evening. It will give them physical exercise. It will also give them an opportunity to meet and interact with other people. They can join clubs or they can pursue other interests. By keeping themselves constantly engaged in something or the other they can overcome loneliness. What is more, when they are physically fit they will feel better about themselves and that will add a whole new layer of meaning to life.