The group below shows average carbon dioxide(CO2) emissions per person in the United Kingdom, Sweden, Italy and Portugal between 1967 and 2007.

It is common opinion that nowadays the main visitors of cultural places are tourists rather than locals. This essay will conclude several key reasons for this issue and few specific ways of addressing it. Primarily, visiting museums and other historical sightseeing by newcomers is due to some factors. To begin with, tourism itself provides the opportunities for people to discover international culture. Therefore, foreigners are mainly interested attending national places. For instance, places such as the Eiffel Tower in Paris or London eye in London became a commonness for people who live in these cities, while foreigners travel there with the purpose of visiting mentioned sites. Furthermore, the prices of entrance tickets are sufficiently high for local people. In contrast, tourists usually spend much more money while travelling than the native inhabitants in their everyday routine. So that, costs of tickets sometimes do not interfere tourists. In this situation, there are several potential solutions to this problem that can be applied. The obvious fact is that decreasing the prices of tickets may lead to the larger amount of visitors. Another thing to consider is involving locals in attendance of this type of sites by setting lists of attracting advertisements with sales and discounts. Spreading the advertisements of local sightseeing will help to increase the number of locals who visit them. It is connected with the fact that low prices catch more attention from people. Taking into account above points, it can be considered that this issue has evident causes, such as tourists' purposes and high costs. But despite this, the number of solutions, for instance, attracting the attention of locals and declining prices, may be useful to make natives to visit museums and historical places more.