Every government has a duty to provide free health care for its people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of government providing free healthcare?

Healthy people build a healthy society and this is why it is a fundamental right for people. One should take care of one’s health but the people live below the poverty line cannot afford the expenses of medical checkups and to them, health care support must be provided by the state. However, there are certain drawbacks in providing free medical care. To begin with, the state must provide free health care to take care of the citizens, especially who can not afford expensive private healthcare services. Someone suffering from any severe health problem will be able to be diagnosed at the right time and consequently, the disease can be treated properly. Finally, the vaccines given at these centres would protect babies from dangerous diseases. The government has a responsibility to ensure proper medical services to its citizens and free health care for all is the way to achieve it. However, some people may consider these free health camps to be disadvantageous. It is certainly possible that the concerned corrupt authorities could misuse the funds allocated for free health service and offer poor medical treatment. As a result, the financial burden on a country rises. Moreover, some people may get habituated to visit a hospital for simple silly reasons and at times, one may overuse the free medicines available and get resist to that medicine which is very drastic. These days due to the advancement in science and technology, someone is able to determine any health abnormality at the initial level himself. For instance, the Intent has a great source of advice, tips and treatment prescribed by professional doctors and researchers that ordinary people can access and follow anytime. From this regards, people should follow a healthy lifestyle and access these free resources for their health benefits without burdening the government for their minor health-related issues. To conclude, the state policy should include poor citizens to the free health care services, impose a small fee for others and monitor the service offered to the people.