Every government has a duty to provide free health care for its people. What are the advantages and disadvantages of government providing free healthcare?

A government has many great responsibilities to its citizens and better health care for everyone is one of them. While free medical service is hard to maintain for a government with budget scarcity, it is a must to ensure a healthy nation. Some disadvantages are there but they can be controlled with strict laws and monitoring. To begin with, medical services and treatments are quite expensive and the majority of the people, even in a rich nation, can not afford it. This is why the government has to intervene and make the health care affordable for all and provide free services for poor citizens. It is natural that a great number of people avoid meeting doctors for minor diseases due to expensive medical services. Many of them end with major healthcare issues which could have been easily avoided if they were diagnosed at the initial level. In fact, the ratio of such diseases is quite high - according to a Health Care Review Committee Report published recently. Moreover, epidemic diseases are often spread among the destitute population and then affect the whole nation. If those poor citizens are out of proper medical treatment, this is a concern for the whole nations. Among downsides, free medical services often lack the quality and have fewer doctors, nurses and medical instruments. This makes the diagnosis of a disease harder and people often get poor services from such a free camp. They have to wait for a long and this is detrimental for patients who need emergency medical attention. Furthermore, the corruption often drains a large amount of money and adds burden to the government. However, these can all be controlled if proper measures are taken. In fact, the drawbacks of free public medical service are not good enough excuse to spot supporting it. To conclude, free health care service is a great way of ensuring medical treatments for all and every government should maintain it for the overall benefit of a nation.