Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As per a school of thought, it is believed that every nation should offer medical care at zero cost, regardless if newest treatments are unavailable due to excessive costs. However, I disagree with this opinion to a certain extent. While this would assure treatment to under-previliged sections of society, it would fail to provide up-to-date remedies for many fatal diseases which can result in increasing deaths. The essay further discusses this topic in length. To begin with, no cost health services will bring equality in society and every citizen would be able to avail the services. This will typically benefit the low-income groups who cannot get medications, surgeries and other high-priced treatments. As per Forbes report, 58. 99% of Indians loose lives because of extraordinarily high costs. However, if free medical facilities are provided to residents, there is high potential that only cost effective treatments will be provided by government funds. There will be a specific budget that state will allocate to meet requirements of healthcare and most medications provided will be indigenous. This will imply that such countries will not be able to take advantage of growing medical science, latest technologies and inventions as it will be expensive to import or purchase them. Futhermore, this will eliminate privatization in medical sector and bring long waiting lists for doctors and people will struggle for getting appointments to visit a specialist. For instance - Canada has free healthcare for its people, but fails to provide timely care due to long waiting queues. To arrange a meeting with a doctor or get some tests done, it usually takes two to three months. This becomes unjust for people who can afford to pay but loose their lives because effective and efficient care was not given. To conclude, availing free medicare will be a blessing for the poorer sections of the society, but it can result in inefficacious treatments and lack of timely care. Governments should instead look for better alternatives like providing subsidies and free camps to poors, and maintaining high standards in treatments.