Every country has poor people and every country has different ways of dealing with the poor. What are some of the reasons for poverty? What can we do to help the poor?

It is undeniable that every nation faces the poverty problem at some point in its history and they all have their own specific ways in addressing the issue. Poverty is a pressing issue in many parts of the world and effective steps are quite important to solve this problem. The following essay will discuss some of the reasons that lie beneath the issue and some of the solutions to resolve it. For a number of reasons, poverty has become an issue in many countries in the world. Firstly, some countries have a large population of poor people due to the poor performance of the governments. For example, under the dictatorial presidentship, many people are facing starvation due to the fact they have a greedy leader who concentrates more on the personal gains than people's betterment. Secondly, certain countries are facing poverty problem due to the unfavourable geographical areas. For instance, certain countries in Africa are facing starvation problem due to the drought issue. Thirdly, some nations have poverty-stricken people in their area because many of these people are lazy and not interesting in working. Some people in developed countries are given allowance from the governments, and they misuse the fund.   Instead of using the money to buy basic needs and searching for jobs, many of them just buy drugs and get drunk. This causes destitution for many people and they cannot come above the poverty line. Lack of natural resources, poor education and lack of trade facility are three major reasons many Asian countries are still poor. There are several things that United Nations and governments could do to resolve the poverty  problem globally.   One of them is that United Nations should give more attention to countries where political instability is the main reason people starve every day. The UN must make intense diplomatic negotiation to reunite people and make them into a free democratic country. As for countries that have unfavourable landscape, the UN could cooperate with local governments in building dams and other facilities. With the existence of UN provided facilities, it is hoped that many countries could manage their irrigation, natural resources and manpower  to improve their condition. Lastly, for people who are idle and become alcoholic, the allowance for them should be stopped. Instead of giving them the money, it could be allocated for treating their addiction and for creating job opportunities for them. In conclusion, many countries have poverty issue, as they have corrupted government, no natural resources, or adverse geographical condition. There are several things that the UN and governments could do to resolve the issue, but the most important one is to change the political condition and help them utilise their own resources.