Every country has poor people and every country has different ways of dealing with the poor. What are some of the reasons for poverty in developing countries? What can we do to help the poor?

Poverty has become one of the most substantial sections of human beings in the comtemporary world. It is overwhelmingly located in developing countries, which makes them harder to be solved. This essay will look at the reasons for this and propose some solutions. One of the primary causes of the problem is the colonial history of developing countries. It is widely accepted that many of the poorest countries in the world were former colonies, slave-exporting areas and territories from which natural resources were extracted for the benefits of colonizing countries. Such overwhelming extraction bred irreparable damage to both natural and human resources in the economic development of those countries. In addition, colonizers deprived many people of accessing land, education, healthcare, and other resources that allow people to support themselves adequately. The social and economic backwardness was undoubtedly the trigger for poverty from the past until now. The solution is for the government to make more policies on boosting economy to narrow the wealth gulf between their country and the richer ones. Another factor is war and political instability. Take Syria for example. Over the last decade, the civil war has turned Syria from an affluent region into one of the poorest country in the world. The infrustructure has been all devastated; therefore, no amount of education, talent or technological know-how will allow people to work and reap the benefits of their fruits of labour. Lack of basic need for subsistence and beyond that, economic prosperity and growth, leads the poverty covers the region…A way of solving this is for the government to try their best to come to a coalition among different parties or political groups, so that they can keep the political equilibrium, and they may ask United Nations for advice and help with money and arms. A third cause of the problem is the vulnarability to the natural disasters. Two third of developing countries focuses on agriculture, which are susceptible to environment. An occasional catastrophic natural disaster can pose a significant obstacle for farmers to earn the livings and eradicate poverty. The effects of flooding in Bangladesh, the drought in the horn of Africa and the earthquake hit Haiti in 2005 are all examples of the way that vulnerability to natural calamities can prove to be devastating to large portions of affected countries. Many impoverished people became refugees within their countries, and almost depended on provision of others for survival. The way forward could be to boost industry and service development instead of relying too much on agriculture and always in the state of ready to confront with catastrophes. This could alleviate the affect of natural disaster on life of citizens. To sum up, poverty has become an extremely serious issue of human beings, especially in developing countries. This is due, by and large, to the colonization in the past, war and political instability, affect of natural disasters. Failure to tackle this now will lead to its escalating out of control. I am of the view that the main responsibilities for solving this problem lies with the goverments.