Even more people are spending most of their time at work nowadays, which leaves almost nothing for personal life. Do you think this trend has more advantages o disadvantages for people?

Time has always had a great value for people because it cannot be replaced by anything else. However, people often choose to invest it in their professional growth rather than their personal one. This essay will discuss why this trend has more disadvantages than advantages for people. To begin with, nowadays the time spent on a job is increasing significantly. This could be seen as an advantage if we think about the opportunity work brings with it. For example, more productivity means more money, which leads to a better standard of life. Furthermore, a better quality of life brings with it another advantage, the evolution of society. This is strongly connected with the fast evolution of technology, the most important cause of the fact that people are working more than in the past. In fact, this is an interesting paradox; technology makes our life easier but, at the same time, it makes us work more. For instance, the mass production in a factory is mostly automatic; however, people are working more extra hours to produce more so to increase their incomes. Even if it looks like a chain of prosperity in fact, it is a vicious one, due to the sacrifices it requires from people. On the other hand, the more time spent at the work place means less time for private life. The greatest disadvantage, in my opinion, is that people are becoming less connected with themselves and with their families and close friends. For example, a person who spends ten hours at work has a very limited free time, and most of it is used for regular domestic activities like cooking, shopping, maybe cleaning the house, so for communication with other people remain almost no time at all. If this person also has children, the situation will be even worse. Another important disadvantage is the lack of time to enjoy the achievements of the amount of work. For instance, many people have a lot of money, but they do not have time to spend it, and at some point they will come to realize that the time has passed and they have not much to be proud of it, because they are alone and have a boring life. Last but not least, too much work can cause serious health problems, both psychological and physical. Many people suffer because of stress, depression, heart diseases and so on. All in all, too much work can have serious negative effects on people. In conclusion, time is, probably, our most precious asset we can deal with. I consider that spending more time at work has more disadvantages than benefits in a long term. At the end of the day, we must find the balance between professional and private life.