Some parents believe that reading books for entertainment is a waste of time for children and they think that their children should read only read serious educational books. What is your opinion?

It is often argued that students giving more priority to read any comic book or story book rather than reading an academic book is a form of wasting time. Although reading academic books is good for the student's education, I firmly believe that reading comic books and/or story books improves creativity and imagination which in turn can help a student to improve his or her aptitude and reasoning skills. To begin with, academic books only represent the theories and associated assumptions of the respective subject which requires further explanation in other ways. For example, a theory in physics might be hard to understand without a practical explanation. This limits the students to gain knowledge about a topic from a single source of information which can be a mood killer for someone who has a passion for reading. On the other hand, comic or story books are self-explanatory which can be understood without any further clarification. This enables students to adapt reading at ease. Furthermore, some story books or novels consist general knowledge regarding social activities and behaviours which can help a student to understand the ways of the society. Hence a student should be enabled to have freedom to read whatever he or she believes is easy or necessary. In conclusion, reading book of any genre can be considered a good habit when compared to other ways of entertainment such as mobiles, internet etc. And I think that time spent reading a book can never be considered as a waste. However, the parents should be open minded while allowing their children to receive any information which is written in the form.