Ethanol fuel, made from plants such as corn and sugar cane, has been advocated by some people as an alternative to gasoline in the United States. However, many critics argue that ethanol is not a good replacement for gasoline for several reasons. First, th

The reading passage and lecture have conflicting opinions about whether or not replacing gasoline for ethanol is really beneficial. The article strongly postulates that using ethanol instead of gasoline is unfavorable for three compelling reasons. On the other hand, the listening adamantly delinates that ethanol is a very good alternative for gasoline. Also, none of the three presented reasons are convincing. First and foremost, according to the author of the excerpt, global warming problem wouldn' t be solved by using more ethanol owing to the fact that using ethanol as fuel can release carbon dioxide like gasoline. Therefore, using more ethanol wouldn' t help to solve one of the biggest environmental issues. Nonetheless, the lecture offsets these points by declaring that using ethanol will not add problems to global warming. the released carbon dioxide from using ethanol as fuel can be compensated by cultivating more plants and trees that produce ethanol. In other words, farming corns can reduce carbon dioxide because plants absorb this harmful gas. On top of this, the professor in lecture further points out that on a large scale ethanol can be produced from plants using cellious. meaning that producing ethanol can meet the individual' s demands by producing ethanol from trees that aren' t eaten by animals. As a result, the animals wouldn' t suffer from food shortage. These claims refute the writer implication of how producing ethanol from plants would harm animals. Also, reduce the number of available trees. The article lastly asserts that using gasoline would cast people less because governments are already paying subsidies tax to people who produce ethanol. which means the ethanol price will increase dramatically if it' s used as fuel. The speaker in lecture counters these points by insisting that if there is more production of the ethanol the ethanol price would decrease.