Essay #3: Young people committing crimes should be treated the same way as adults.

In the recent years, the alarming increase in juvenile delinquency has been a hard riddle for each individual as well as our society. It is recommended that adults’ sentences should be imposed on teenage criminals to combat young crimes. Although I agree that serious crimes should be inflicted heavy, I believe that this move reflects mishandle of justice due to the following reasons. On the one hand, there are some reasons why offenders of all ages should be treated equally. Harsh punishment can serve as a deterrent to those who intend to break the law; therefore, the crime rates are decreased considerably. Furthermore, young violators receiving lenient penalties compared to grown-up offenders may not fully fathom the disastrous consequence of their actions, hence they are likely to reoffend after being released. Consequently, the safety of innocent people is put in jeopardy. On the other hand, I am much more convinced that youth crimes should be tackled in a different way in contrast with the meter. The offence of youngster stems from their lack of intellectual capacity and proper education from the elders. For instance, a young student massacred the whole school because he tried to imitate a popular shooting game he was playing. Moreover, many young people become a culprit because of being threatened or manipulated by criminal gangs; for example, they can be forced to be a drug trafficker or a theft. Besides, there are a lot of useful alternative forms of penalty such as sending immature wrongdoers to rehabilitation centers or making them to serve at unpaid community service organizations. Thanks to these methods, young lawbreakers can obtain not only better respect for laws, but also specific skills to reintegrate back to community and contribute to their nations. In conclusion, I suggest that rather than penalizes young convicts the same as adults, the legal bodies should take more appropriate measures to rehabilitate young trouble makers.