English has become a need of the day and the local language are getting sidelined Give opinion and discuss your view.

English in the current time and era has become a common language of communication across the globe. It has become a pivotal part of education, growth and commercial activities. Over time, it has been given preference over local languages, due to which, there’s a threat to latter becoming obsolete. In my opinion, it is very necessary to learn English, but at the same time, it is crucial to keep the local languages alive. English has, without doubt, become a necessity in current context. This is primarily due to increasing globalization and mobilization, due to which, there has been movement of population across region in search of jobs, education or business. This has, in turn, led to a need of a common language that is understood across regions. English hence, gained momentum as a most frequently and commonly used language. It allows people to learn, communicate and advance in their lives in global scenario. Unfortunately, preference given to the language and associating it with a better lifestyle is threatening the survival of local / regional languages. The basic essence of the language which is a means to communicate, is lost in the whole scenario. This poses a grave threat to local languages of dying out and becoming obsolete. Moreover, the research has proven that bilingual or multilingual kids have better chances of succeeding in their careers due to their adaptability. I, therefore, strongly believe that English along with other regional languages can co-exist and mutually reinforce development. Local languages, in fact should be taught a second language, yet the mandatory subject in the schools. Plays can be organized based on different languages and students be encouraged to read and write articles in different languages. This would not just ensure that the kids become adept in both the languages, but also ensure one language is not looked down upon in comparison to another.