As a result of tourism development, English has become the most popular language. Some people think that it will be the only language to be spoken one day. Do the advantages of having one language outweigh its disadvantages?

It is true that English, the most common language, has spoken on a global scale. It leads to the forecast that it will become the only language to be used someday. Despite some obvious advantages of this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the disadvantages. On the one hand, having a global language would help people in the world reap certain benefits. Firstly and above all, such change would nourish mutual understanding among citizens from different cultural backgrounds. It would be needless to use dictionaries or interpreters to communicate with people from other nations, as long as everyone was to speak the same language. In addition, using only one language could also facilitate trade among countries. This would help enhance a nation’s economic development, which means its citizens would enjoy a superior quality of life. On the other hand, it is unable to deny the obvious demerits of living in a single-language world. To start with, inferior languages would be forced to vanish under the dominance of a global one. This would also result in the loss of national identity and cultural diversity due to the fact that the new language often brings new culture and customs within. Likewise, traveling to other nations in order to discover cultures, would become pointless. Subsequently, the tourism industry could be put under crisis, which would heavily ruin countries that rely on tourism as its main source of income. In conclusion, it seems to me that the drawbacks of using only one language on a global scale are more significant than the benefits.