Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Over many years, explorers and travellers have found it very amusing to seek new adventures and discover beauty in new places that no one has ever been to. Recently, and according to "Travel Now" magazine, there has been a growing trend for people to go to sites that are known for their harsh and difficult conditions. These sites have ranged from deserts such as the Western Desert in Egypt, to "white" deserts as the Antarctic. Apart from the rush and stomach butterflies that strike a person who is fond of experiencing new things, we can spot several benefits and downsides for such trend. Talking about the advantages, we may find that it varies between the cultural, psychological, and social benefits. For instance, it is always a good thing to incorporate further knowledge about what other cultures and people are living with us on the planet, which is very helpful to enrich our social skills. As well, it is also great to relax and have some time away from the pressures of daily life and routine that exist in the normal and usual environment that we live in. In that sense, a trip that I made to Saint Catherine Protectorate in South Sinai, Egypt, has definitely manifested the kind of things that I was looking for at that time. The relaxing, beautiful and quiet nature of such environment has energized me like never before. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of this kind of adventurous trips. These downfalls might be in the lack of knowledge for the required physical health and essential training that are required to sign up for this sort of effort as climbing a mountain or walking in the desert. Also, language might be an obstacle. However, these obstacles are easy to overcome. For example, we can search for individuals who have sufficient information about the needed body and mental practice. As well, a tour guide can solve the language problem.