Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Every single day we see lots of job advertisement from different companies seeking out to hire employees. There is a debate among the community that either it is necessary to ask for personal information, like hobbies or their marital status. There are different opinions but I believe that collecting such information is vital while hiring a resource. One the one side, certain people believes that it is not important to ask for personal information from the candidate. They suggest that sharing such information makes the resume weak. The recruiter is not interested to know about your marital status or your interest. Although, their focus is to find the suitable person for the job they have advertised. Experts suggest that your resume should be according to the job requirement and you should exclude unnecessary information. For example, Abacus Consulting Firm guides their clients to ways to mould the CV as per company’s requirement. On the other hand, I would argue that sharing personal information is very useful and that give the clear insight of a specific applicant. This helps in identifying the perfect person for a particular job. For example, a person has mentioned in his resume that he was the captain of football team and applying for the job of team leader in sales department is the perfect hire; because he knows how to lead the team. Similarly, to hire a married woman with kids to a job of extensive travelling is never a good option. So, it is important to consider such information while hiring the employee. In conclusion, we might say that every organization have their own hiring policy. It is believed that it all depends on the specific job role. Few companies consider these details as unimportant where as other consider essential while hiring.