Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

When applying for a job, the employer usually asks questions about personal life. For instance, you might be asked about your marital status and passion. Critics argue whether this information is really beneficial or not. Interestingly, I believe that such information is valuable for various reasons, which will be discussed in this essay. Some people think that you should not be questioned about private life during interviews. It is thought that this information will be used for discrimination and favouritism. For example, if the employees do not share the same interests as the interviewee, they might lose the chance of getting employed despite their qualifications. Furthermore, some people might prefer to keep their life confidential. It is no doubt that being asked for work-related issues sounds more logical than hobbies and relationship status. However, it is advantageous. On the other hand, opposers find these data helpful. It is worth mentioning that being married or single might affect your work performance. In other words, as a married person, less time will be dedicated to work due to the need to spend time with the family, therefore, the job will only be given to someone who has enough free time. As a result, being overloaded with work will be avoided. With regard to the hobbies, it is important to work in a field which you are passionate about. This can only be guaranteed if the company you are applying to knows your points of interest, which will increase your job satisfaction. In a nutshell, I believe that collecting personal data is crucial for effective head hunting. What is the point of employing a worker who is not suitable? By asking these questions, employee welfare will increase along with motivation and productivity as discussed in this essay.