Government should spend more money on railways rather than roads. with this statement

It is commonly suggested that rail tracks should receive more of the government's finances rather than roads. I agree with this view, as railways do not cause much damage to our environments and last for longer periods of time. On the one hand, railways are environmental friendly. The tracks are narrow, which reduce the number of trees destroyed to clear ways for its construction and less natural habitats are damaged. For instance, a standard highway in Nigeria can accommodate ten rail tracks. Thus, if the authorities have spent more on train tracks, our ecosystem will not have been adversely affected, but this can corrected with rail tracks. Furthermore, railways are durable. Train tracks are not easily damaged by the forces of nature such as rain and wind, and require only periodic maintenance. For example, the majority of railways in Nigeria were built during the colonial era and are still working effectively. Therefore, unlike roads, they can be used for a longer time. However, some people think that more money should be devoted to roads since a greater number of people utilize road transportation. This may be due to the high number of car owners and traffic congestion in major cities like Beijing and Lagos. They feel that expansions of existing roads and constructions of new ones are needed to address transportation challenges, which require a lot of finances. However, more intra and inter city rail networks will solve this problem. In conclusion, the government should devote more financial resources to railways rather than roads because it does not significantly damage our surroundings and it is more durable. Policy makers should be educated on this view.