Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Companies nowadays prefer to gather personal information from the candidates applying for a job, which includes marital status, interests, and hobbies. Although believed by many that such information may be relevant and useful to hire a perfect candidate, but, few people think that personal information must not be revealed to the employer because it may result in discrimination in the hiring process. This essay will discuss both the views, however, in my opinion, disclosure of such information does not affect the hiring process and helps the employer make a better choice over a number of candidates. On the one hand, it is perceived by many that capturing the private information of candidates who are applying for jobs gives the free hand to the hiring managers, to hire the candidate of their own interest. However, it is important to understand that the hiring manager will be able to hire a person of personal interest only if he is aware of the place where the candidates belong to, or the cast of the candidate, but having information only about the hobbies, interest and marital status does not allows the recruiting manager to take a biased decision. A recent survey by Economic Times suggests that the companies who do not seek personal information from the candidates have a 10% higher attrition rate. So in my opinion, the belief that employer having availed the personal information may bias the recruiting process is not valid. On the other hand, the hiring managers ask the candidates for personal information to make the best choice out of the pool of candidates. Firstly, seeking personal information such as interest and hobbies reveals the nature of the person and reveals more about the personality of the candidate. Such as, someone having a habit of reading novels must be a person who likes to be surrounded by books. Secondly, asking for the marital status helps the hiring manager to make a decision according to the requirement of the role, as the role might include a lot of traveling which is generally not preferred by the married candidates, and may result in disinterest from the job. Times now interview with top recruiting agencies shows that the hiring managers who seek personal information from candidates have been able to recruit more successful candidates with an attrition rate of less than 10%. In my opinion, employers who ask the private information of the candidates successfully hire a better person according to the roles and responsibility of the position. To conclude, hiring managers availing subjective information in advance, from the candidates applying for job opportunities should not be seen as a way of dissolving transparency of the hiring procedure, as it helps employers bring the best resources to the company.