Competitiveness among high school children should be encouraged.

Persuading high school pupils to engage in competitions has been a longstanding topic. I completely agree with this statement, and this essay will further reveal how contests develop the mental mind of children as well as enabling them become responsible and fearless adults that venture into the world in future. Firstly, when students are inspired to partake in competitions, their mental minds grow spontaneously. This is because, these pupils are exposed to extremely challenging conditions in the bid to succeed. Hence, propelling them to reason outside the box and exude ideas beyond their mental age. For instance, in a Nigerian High School, a group of young science undergraduates were involved in an international competition. These scholars were motivated to build a washing machine from the scratch despite not having done anything of that sort before. Therefore, exceeding their mental capacities and emerging as the best. Secondly, when contests are allowed between students, it encourages them to be responsible adults as well as being fearless. This is because, contests come with challenges and obligations to surmount them. These problems, make young adults strong and courageous to face future obstacles. For example, a research done in a Nigerian secondary school in 1994, shows that 70% of young scholars that were inspired to compete in school now work in international companies and are engaged in great exploits globally. To conclude, it is clear that enabling undergraduates to participate in contests help with their mental development also making them become vibrant adults in future.