Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Job interviews involve various interviewing dimensions to choose among the prospective candidates. While some believe that interviews should not involve asking personal details of the interviewees, I believe that such information proves to be of great help in hiring the most appropriate applicant. Those who advocate that the private details of people should not be asked at the interviews might argue that such information becomes the basis of bias in hiring of the employees. Selecting employees considering their race, family and gender is an accepted dilemma. for example, that is the reason that some countries have imposed legislations on the hiring of employees on the basis of caste, creed, social group or sexual category. Education, experience and the relevant professional skills are accepted as the ultimate requirements to appoint the most suitable candidate for a vacancy. Contrary to this, in my opinion, asking personal information from the interviewees aids in the selection process. A person who loves to paint as a hobby will be suitable for the post of creative graphic designer. Similarly, a married woman with children will not be suitable for a task demanding travelling or long working hours. A manager might miss out a better candidate for a particular position, if questions related to the private details of the interviewee are totally avoided. In conclusion, the people who do not favour asking personal facts in employment interviews might consider it to be a reason of prejudice in the employee selection. However, in my opinion the benefits overshadows the risks involved. In addition to the formal profile, details about a person’s marital status, past times and interests allows the interviewer to better match a candidate to a particular job description.