In most countries the majority of crimes are committed by young men under the age of 30. Why is this so, and what can be done to reduce the problem?

When we look at the figures about criminality, we see that most of the crimes are committed by young men under the age of 30. This is a problem of all ages, although the reasons for this could be slightly different than in earlier times. One of the reasons could be that young men tend to start a family later than they used to. Getting married and getting children is being done at a later age nowadays. One of the causes can be the problem of housing. It might become easier to start a family when it will be more easy to find a proper house when you are a young adult. The second reason for the high crime rate amongst young men could be the accessibility of hard drugs. Although hard drugs are not legalized it is easy to get it and this makes it tempting for youngsters. It might help young men avoid drugs when the changes to get caught will be higher and the punishment will be harder, so maybe the police need to focus on this more. Finally, there is the issue of higher unemployment rates among adolescents. Not having a job can make life seem hopeless or meaningless, which subsequently can lead to thoughtless acts or criminalization. When it will become easier for employers to hire young people, maybe by some subsidies, it could bring the high unemployment figures down. To summarize, crime rates among young adult men are high and although the reasons for this are numerous, some measurements can be taken tomorrow to bring these numbers down. Make it easier to rent or buy a house, let police focus on drug abuse among youngsters and make legislation to make it easier for companies to hire young men.