Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information is relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Employers often ask job seekers about their personal information like marital status, leisure interests during job interviews. Some think these types of questions are helpful in the hiring process whereas others believe this is irrelevant. While such details are helpful in the recruitment procedure, I think human resource managers should know this information as it helps them in the selection of the right candidates for the post. On the one hand, the recruitment department must get personal information from people. This enables an employer to have in-depth knowledge of prospective employees. Some jobs demand long working hours, frequent traveling and to fulfill these criteria it is essential to have personal information of people. For example, the ministry of human resources of states conducted a survey which showed that employers who collected personal details of people during the job interview have a 50 % less attrition rate in their organization. I believe managers should have personal details of their workforce as it helps them to design jobs. On the other hand, job aspirant’s personal information such as hobbies, extra curriculum interests is not at all require as this will not of any use. Instead of this, people should ask for their job-specific experiences and skills. This kind of information is beneficial in the selection procedure and helps the employer in recruiting the right person. For instance, the Labour Association in the UK published an article that reveals the fact that job-specific information of employees proves more important than their details. However, I think a worker's personal interests should take into consideration. In conclusion, some would argue that the recruitment cell should collect personal details of job applicants. Others believe this information is not important. Employers should know their future employee’s likes and dislikes.