Many people believe that the increasing number of cars in cities is the biggest source of pollution and waste. Others think that industries are the ones causing pollution.

Environmental pollution is currently the biggest challenge facing the world today. A staggering increase in the number of cars all over the world is believed to be the main culprit as opposed to others who reckon that a substantial contribution to the cause of pollution is made by industries. Through the first lens, the growing demand for using cars in urban areas directly gives rise to air pollution. The fumes from cars’ exhaust comprise dangerous gases which cause environmental problems as they spread. Vehicle emissions result in increasing the level of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. Hence, these gases trap the sun’s heat in the atmosphere leading to an increase in the temperature of the earth. Many scientists reckon that burning fossil fuels such as gasoline contribute to a high level of greenhouse gases, leading to global warming. Besides, the other contamination could be excessive car noise resulting from road traffic. Air pollution can be harmful to human as it is a major cause not only of hearing loss, but also of heart disease, learning problems in children and sleep disturbance. On the other hand, most of the contaminants stem from industries, which is the rampant cause of pollution worldwide. Discharging various industrial waste products into water bodies results in water, soil and air pollution. Industrial waste is one of the main causes of water pollution, which is dumped directly into oceans and seas. Water pollution is a serious threat to humans, animals, and aquatic life. By far the biggest consequence of water pollution is the death of aquatic creatures, which can disrupt the entire food chain. To sum up, although cars and Industries both are the main factors in contributing to pollution, in my opinion, humans are more prone to toxic water and degrading water quality with dumping industrial waste is the main culprit.