Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. others disagree.

An employer usually asks some generic information while hiring. It has been believed by some that companies asks personal information such as either they are married or single and their hobbies are very useful while others do not quite agree with this. However, I agree with the given statement. This essay will discuss both views. To begin with, Some people think that asking this personal information is not useful. Such people believe that, organizations ask this kind of information just to maintain their records and would not do anything for employee with such data and they lies about their interest as well. For example, according to a survey in India, 40 percent of students agree that they gave false information to companies according to the job description when asked. On the flip side, others reckon that this information is quite useful for the employer. Some employer sends birthday wishes or anniversary card on the respective dates after collecting this information to motivate employees. Secondly, some jobs are very interest specific. For example, if someone gave an interview in a studio company and his interest is photography, then this information boosts his chances to get selected. To conclude, some people have the opinion that asking personal information is useful and companies ask just to maintain their records. While others think companies use this knowledge in many ways, such as selecting a candidate based on their interest and I agree with this point of view.