Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

It is quite common in job applying processes for companies to ask candidates about their personal information such as family relationship and what they do in their leisure time. While there are some people that believe these facts are import to the company to know, others believe requiring this information is unethical. This essay will present both points of view and then I will provide my own perspective on this matter. On one side of the discussion, there are professionals who think it is relevant to know more than just the candidate's professional background. They usually think knowing information such as hobbies, marital status and family income allows the company to understand psychological aspects of the candidate. For instance, if the applicant seems to be a more sociable person, it tends to have better teamwork skills. On the other hand, some people believe companies should not be allowed to ask about personal information to candidates applying for a job. They believe these information could be unfairly used against the applicants. A married woman with no children, for example, could not be considered for a position just because the organization inferred she would dream about being a mother soon and use employer’s resources for maternity leave. In conclusion, although both sides have valid arguments, my opinion is that privacy is a fundamental right. Because of it, I strongly believe organizations should keep the questions to the job applicants in the professional field, respecting this way their personal lives.