Many people believe that social networking sites have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society

With the development of technology, the use of social networking site has increased dramatically throughout the last 20 years. Keep this in mind, there are many people believe that the use of social networking site does have a variety of detrimental impacts on both individuals and society. However, while I believe that social networking sites enhance and improve people’s social lives, I agree that it causes some inevitable effects on our community. With regards to individuals, the use of networking site, such as Facebook or Twitter, does have distinct advantages. Firstly, it allows people to connect freely and efficiently with others who share similar experiences, hobbies, and interest, without the concern of geographical barriers. Additionally, it also enables people who work or study abroad to communicate with their family or friends. Consequently, it limits the feeling of loneliness and allows people to feel proximity. Therefore, the use of networking site is essential for people’s social lives as it enables people to communicate with each other, especially those who have the issue of geographical barriers. On the other hand, the use of social networking site does have some detrimental impacts on our community due to its extremely addictive nature. The concern of people starting to become addicted to social networking sites has increased dramatically and this severe concern especially happens among youths and young adults. The addictive nature often resulting in people to have less crucial face-to-face communications, and it also encourages people to have a sedentary lifestyle. Consequently, it causes fewer people to join community activities and more people are less connected with their neighbourhoods. In conclusion, social networking sites enable people to communicate with others without the concern of geographical barriers, and this is especially advantaged to people who are working or study abroad. However, due to the addictive nature of networking sites, it decreases crucial face-to-face communication between people and encourages people to have a detrimental sedentary lifestyle.