A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defence but spend less on social benefits.

There is no doubt that the primary role of a government is to protect its citizens from threats. Therefore, many people argued that the government should increase spending on defence, but spend less on social benefits. Although spending on defence or military can ensure citizens’ safety, it is crucial to spend money on social benefits to improve our social welfare. On the one hand, improving and strengthening the armed force and military is essential for a country as it protects citizens from threats. By spending more money on defence, the government enables the arm force to deter aggressive neighbour countries and terrorists in which want to attack the country. Consequently, it does not only limits the war, but also prevents the death of innocents and damaging properties. Therefore, by putting more taxes to improve defence force, it can enhance the safety of our society and protecting the citizens from harmful threats. On the other hand, spending money on social benefits is crucial not only to improve the standard of society’s living but also help our community to develop. For example, the government should spend money on building more public services such as hospitals and educational institutions, as it ensures people are able to satisfy their fundamental needs. Moreover, it also helps our community’s economy as it creates more career opportunities. Consequently, it also improves our nation’s standing in the world economy. Therefore, the act of spending more money on social benefits creates a variety of distinct advantage not only to the citizens but also to our society. In conclusion, spending more money on defence force can enhance the safety of our society. However, the government should not spend less on social benefits as it has a variety of distinct advantages not only for the citizens but also for our community.