Employers should give longer holidays to employees to encourage them to do their job well. Do you agree?

It is argued by some people that workers should be given longer holidays by their employers so that they can be efficient at work. I disagree with this view because longer time off work could decrease productivity and it may lead to a reduction in worker's income. First of all, when employees are given longer holidays, their overall productivity could decrease. The level of production in most organizations depend on the skills of the workers as well as the time put up for work. Thus, if employees have more holidays, their productivity at work may reduce. For instance, in an effort to meet demands, many firms in Nigeria employ locum workers when their regular employees are on leave. This shows that they would face more challenges when their employees have more time off duty. Furthermore, longer leave could reduce the income of employees. In an effort to maintain profit, some firms employ part-time workers and therefore, reduce allowances offered to employees on holidays. For example, in Nigeria, some people forgo leave from work so as to receive extra pay. This shows that some employees would not be encouraged to work well even with longer holidays if their income is affected. In conclusion, I disagree with the notion that longer holidays would make employees work better due to the fact that the productivity and the pay of some workers could reduce with longer holidays. Other forms of incentive should be offered to employees.