Employer sometimes ask people applying for the jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

One of the debatable issues in the job market relates to whether recruiter should acquire information about the applicant`s personal life, for example their past time activities and marital status or not. In this essay I am going to examine this question from both sides of the argument and then I will give my own perspective in this matter. The first reason why the potential employees are asked about their personal life is because, by knowing about the potential hire`s leisure time activities, the human resource department can decide whether he or she will be the best-fit for the company or not. In most cases, if an individual`s passion matches the job interest, he or she will be more committed to the organization. Additionally, in some cases employer receives information about the employee’s marital status and therefore can estimate the employee retention rate. To illustrate, if a position requires to travel frequently might not be an appropriate choice for a married person. However, there are some drawbacks of asking personal information to the job seekers. Firstly, after knowing about the applicant`s personal interests the interviewer might take judgmental decisions. For instance, if the interviewer and interviewee have same sport preferences, then employer might get biased and perform wrong recruitments. Another crucial point is that, many people may have strong privacy concern and thus not willing to share those in public. As a consequence, the employer will miss the opportunity to appoint those who might be the well fit for the company in the long run. In conclusion, I believe both sides have merits. On balance, however, I feel that the organization should not have applicant`s personal information. This is because, this knowledge will not only create discrimination toward the job seekers but also the company will lose many applicants due to the confidentiality policy.