Education Job FairSaturday, October 9 9: 00 a. m. -12: 00 p. m. Washington CenterThe University of the Rockies has been offering our Placement Abroad Services for prospective teachers since 1980. This program is sponsored by the University of the Rockies'

It is argued that the most effective method of reducing crime is giving jail imprisonment for a long period of time. However, some people think there are existed another method to decrease the criminal quantity. Long sentences might stop only some minor criminals; it is unlikely that a majority of felony would be committed anyways. This essay will consider why eventually only few crime types will be reduced. Long confinement would help to stop essential crimes because human does not want to be convicted for a continuous period of time and destroy their whole life. In China, for example, minor crimes are very rarely because of the severe law. Chinese has the lowest rate of theft, shoplifting, burglaries and robberies. In addition, for these kinds of crime, human might spend 10 or even 20 years in the jail. That is why, long sentence may cut minor offences which is about 70% of the crime. Conversely, criminals, who committed a major crime, do not afraid long incarceration. These people do not care about punishment and they know in advance that it may be higher penalty. For instance, in the United States of America exist capital punishment, however every year, hundreds guilty murders, terrorists are under death penalty and hundred thousand get whole life isolation. For these reasons, long imprisonment does not work properly with major criminal and there must be other ways to reduce felony. To conclude, it is increasingly likely that longer penalty will cut felony. Long custody will eventually fall minor atrocities while it will not affect to the major criminals. Ultimately, most crime will be reduced by long sentences.