These days, many people have their own computer and telephone, so it is quite easy for them to do their job at home. Does working at home have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Recently, people are able to possess various devices like laptops and mobiles, making it convenient for them to work from their home. Is this vogue propitious or pernicious? In my opinion, this trend has much more advantages than its disadvantages for many reasons. In this essay we will contend for this culture with a study done by McKinsey and my personal experience. At home environment, it becomes difficult for people to maintain a proper task life balance, which affects their performance, both personally and professionally. Since, they do not go to the office, they often lack interaction with their peers and other co-workers, which further impact their social skills. A study by McKinsey states that people who mostly do work from home, are expected to develop anxiety and lack in their social communication skills, than those who regularly go to the office. Hence, remote working has its own dire consequences. On the other hand, this flexibility of job has potential to decrease the point and running cost of both employer and employee, provided that, the right usage of the available technology and human interaction is done. Distant working implies that organizations need not to have a big space for their employees, thus, saving a huge cost of various office assets. I have personally observed that, I am able to deliver more effectively, whenever I work remotely, as it saves my travel duration, which always increases my actual delivery. To recapitulate, having mulled over above stated arguments and information, and deliberating all the facts carefully, it can be deducted that while remote working has some cons, but if, technology is aligned well with people, the pros far outweigh the shortfalls. I feel that, if effective communication is done between employees, through video calls and other audio calls, then the effect of social distancing can also be addressed, resulting in more space availability for a particular task.