Economic progress is one way to measure a country's success. Some people believe that there are other factors should be considered when measuring the success of a country. What are the other factors? Do you think there is a factor that is more important than the others?

Opinion has been divided on whether or not the economic growth of a nation is the only factor to determine its success. Although I accept that the economy is an extremely significant aspect that every country should pay attention to, I firmly hold that there are several elements to be considered while evaluating the development of a nation. Education and health systems are two essential factors used to estimate the improvement of a community. The first to mention is education, which is widely regarded as the basic standard of humanity. A proper education system will likely enable the citizens to get satisfying jobs, which means the country may reduce the rate of unemployment and various offences. Secondly, health status is also a vital element in a nation’s living standard, as the healthier the population is, the more contribution to the improvement of the country they make. For example, regions enduring severe diseases such as HIV, Ebola or MERS cannot develop as those that have great health care systems. However, I support the view that the economic advance outweighs other components when assessing a country’s prosperity. This is because most experts usually use indexes such as gross domestic product, gross national product or inflation rate to classify nations into developing or developed ones. Moreover, without a sustainable economy, education and health structures may fail to grow utterly since the budget will be too tight for the government to run advanced methods. In my view, the economy has an important role to play in a prosperous country, especially when the considerable improvement in technology affects most aspects of people’s lives, which requires plenty of money. For the foregoing discussions, while there are numerous elements should be counted, it is necessary to emphasize the irreplaceable importance of the economy in the development of a country.