Economic progress is one factor that is being considered to measure the success of a country, but there are other factors that should be considered when measuring the success of a country. What other factors do you think should be

Nowadays for a fraction of the population, it is quite common to believe people visiting other countries should follow the behaviours and culture of the local citizens, while others believe this is not mandatory given hosts should be accepting cultural diversity. I will be discussing both and explain why I believe the later is the one that should be adopted as the norm. In recent years we've been watching a growing trend of increasing parts of the society which shows a negative view towards those who act differently compared to the social standards of living, working and communicating. One of the reasons for that increase is linked to the rising population of immigrants in developed countries, leading to higher contrasts between native people and foreign residents. For example, a recent research showed 1/4 of North Americans believe immigrants are affecting the way children act and behave. If parents start to realize their children are not following the social standards they expect, they will try to develop barriers to block access to newcomers and their families, resulting in an increased common view against those who do not fit the local culture. On the other hand, globalization and the internet have exposed the world to a huge variety of different cultures. As a result, children are now raised watching movies, tv shows and documentaries from all continents, spreading a common sense of a universal society, connected with all sorts of social networks and traditional media. That leads to a new generation of citizens which are widely opened to new experiences and languages, and therefore more accepting to host and embrace visitors in a more welcoming way. Furthermore, if peoples from different countries can better integrate, they will also improve the likelihood of better trades and exchange of knowledge, leading to mutual development for both parties. Globalization has more than ever exposed the contrasts between native people and those who are visiting new countries and places, which can result on increased hate and lack of integration between individuals, but also can provide the opportunity for acquiring new knowledge and broaden their views. I believe society should move forward to integrate different cultures to achieve the goal of a global community.