Economic progress is one factor that is being considered to measure the success of a country, but there are other factors that should be considered when measuring the success of a country.

A successful country is usually associated with developed country, having economic strength with the great national income. Even though it is true that economic progress will affect the improvement of a state, I firmly believe this factor is not the only thing to be considered as parameters of a successful country. It is obvious that economic growth is one indicator which is considered to assess the success of a nation because without adequate economic condition, the government of the state will not be able to manage and run its programs well and citizens will suffer. However, that factor will be meaningless if it is not supported by the other aspects such as education and health. For instance, Brazil, having good economic growth in the last century, is still struggling with the low rate of education and health care of its citizens, particularly in the northern region. This eventually means that the inhabitants in the northern part of Brazil are still poor and the government has not fully succeeded to prosper its people. Furthermore, a wealthy nation like Brazil still has a problem with the morality of its residents, reflected on the high crime rate in the country which will potentially endanger the national stability of Brazil. This means that the government has failed to educate its citizens. Therefore, morality should be taken into account as another factor to obtain success by the nation. In a nutshell, other than economic prosperity, there are the other indicators that should be considered in order to be a successful country such as education, health, and morality. However, personally, I put economic factor as the most important one because important aspects to improve the other factors (education, health, and morality) cannot be achieved well if a good economic condition of the nation has not been achieved yet.