Nowadays many students have the opportunity to study for part or all of their courses in foreign countries. While studying abroad brings many benefits to individual students, it also has a number of disadvantages.

In the recent years, there has been a vast increase in the number of students going abroad to pursue their studies. While studying abroad appears to be an appealing option for many, it is argued that studying abroad does not come without a number of drawbacks. Apropos of the statement, I am in consummate accord with it. One of the advantages of studying abroad is that students will be allowed to learn to live independently as family and relatives are far away and will not be available to aid and abet them if problems arise. Thus, they will learn to settle the problems by themselves while at the same time growing as an independent individual. Furthermore, students studying abroad will be constantly exposed to a second language and hence, will be proficient in the language if given enough time. Also, it might serve as a useful ability for prospective careers in their future. However, some disadvantages that stem from studying abroad are not to be overlooked. For instance, without a grant of scholarship, students of less affluent families might deem the living cost and school fee too expensive comparing to studying in one’s local universities. Moreover, students who are not serious about pursuing their studies and are only interested in the excitement living abroad can offer them will have put in their money and invested their time ineffectively and fruitlessly. To conclude, I believe that studying abroad doesn't come without drawbacks. However, with enough effort put in and serious commitment, it will bring many benefits to individual students.