Eating too much sugar is harmful for our health. Some people think that it is government responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think that it is an individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat.

According to World Health Organisation (WHO), the prevalence of non-communicable diseases caused by excessive of sugar intake, namely diabetes and obesity, has been increasing lately. Some people argue that councils have to take action while the others think that sugar intake is a personal responsibility. In this essay, I shall give my opinion that both parties have their responsibilities. On the one hand, there is always a government organisation similar to Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in every country who is responsible for checking food ingredients, deciding whether it is safe for consumers, and giving permission for the distribution. For example, food containing more than 200 milligrams saccharin, a kind of synthetic sugar, has to be restricted because it is scientifically proven that consuming more than 200 milligrams saccharin per day in one year can lead to diabetes and obesity. On the other hand, people have to aware about their health by improving the knowledge regarding the source and kind of sugar that they consume and limit the sugar intake. For example, alternative sugar, such as stevia and corn sugar are the best choice for people who like sweet cuisine. The stevia sweetness level is a hundred times higher than the usual sugar, but our body absorb it less. So, we do not have to calculate our daily sugar consumption. To sum up, the government has the power to limit the amount of sugar in distributed food. However, limiting the daily sugar intake and choosing the kind of sugar to be consumed are the individual’s responsibility.