Eating too much sugar is harmful for our health. Some people think that it is a government responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think that it is an individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat.

Recently there has been much interest in gaining a better understanding of the different ways to limit the sugar consumption. Some feel that the government is solely responsible for controlling such products. However, I agree with those who are of the opinion that individuals are the one should take up the responsibility. In this essay, I will proffer the rationale for both viewpoints as well as adduce all the argument to support my view. They who espouse the former opinion claim that the government rules can stand out to limit the usage of sugar. The proponents of this view maintain that the government could protect their society members' health by introducing new regulation to ban production and utilization of this product. As a result, those families who are not self motivated for reducing the sugar consumption will be enforced to improve their health conditions. Maybe there is some truth in this claim, and some empirical evidence can be provided to support it. A 2007 study, for instance, conducted by a team of researchers at the University of Toronto found that human mind will not stop pursuing a particular activity unless they are forced by an external source. As this example illustrates, the government should take necessary steps to control the use. Nonetheless, one can argue that there is more to the story than this research tells. Personally, I firmly believe that it is an individual's job to protect his/her health conditions. It goes without saying that there are tons of rules and regulations out there for restricting the use of drugs, alcohol and other products, but people still overuse these products regardless. If individuals are self-motivated and educated for limiting the use of these products, then there are less chances that they would consume any products that harm their health. My school friend, Ben, is a shining example of this. He used to smoke cigarettes despite of federal laws. However, one day he realized the detrimental effects of smoking and before he knew it, he stopped smoking. To sum up, although the government could limit the usage for some family members by creating new laws. However, I still hold to the opinion that it is an individual's responsibility to take care of their medical conditions by self-awareness and proper education.