Eating too much sugar is harmful to health. Some people think it is the government’s responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think it is an individual’s responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat.

Consuming the surplus amount of carbohydrate can be dangerous for people’s life. It is a controversial topic to clarify who should take a responsibility on this problem. In my view, it should be both governments and individuals can participate in solving this issue. There are those who say that governments should take a responsibility on limiting carbohydrate intake in processed foods. Until selling products to customers, authorities should examine manufacturer’s products as some food industries can include more carbohydrate on the products than a regular nutrition to improve the flavour of their products. The government should therefore enforce a strict regulation on the production sector to ensure that each material follows the nutritional requirements. Another duty is to increase consciousness for citizens to learn more about the negative consequences of carbohydrate intake by raising the price of carbohydrate will make customers thinking of high carbohydrate items, then switching to eat healthier goods. While others would say that it relies on individuals to response for their style of consumption and private compassion. Although the government takes care of this topic, individuals are often not really paying much attention to this subject. A good illustration of this is that some people have already known how carbohydrate effects on their health, but they still consume whatever they like with over limit especially carbonated beverage such as Pepsi and cola. In addition, individuals should be responsible for themselves by gaining more knowledge before making any decisions to purchase some products by watching television and surfing the internet as well as reducing the food containing too much carbohydrate and become a nutritious person. In conclusion, I believe that the best solution of this issue should be the responsibility of both governments and individuals. Governments have the power to control or regulate the production process while individuals are able to limit their eating habit and outweigh what is suitable for them.