The government is spending a lot of money to discover life on other planets. Some people think that the government is wasting money and should spend more money addressing the problems of the public.

It is a true fact that governments all arount the world have to deal with the duty to choose where to invest the limited amount of resources available. One of those many field where to invest can be the research of living creatures outside of our planet. On the one hand, investments of this type are at the foundation of progress. In the past it happened many and many times that researches of this kind, previously seen as too much futuristic and abstract, ended up with astonishing results, writing pages of history. As instance, the landing of the man on the moon had a similar feeling, but eventually they really manage to get it done. Moreover, considering the dimensions of the known universe, the chanses that the correct conditions have been verified only on our planet are less than the one that there is life somewhere else. On the other hand, the world is facing an incredible amount of more basic challenges that can be easily addessed with the money invested in those discovery programs, namely the poverty, the lack of education in developing countries, and the last but most important, the climate change. Although all of this is true, in my opinion there should be a balanced division between the expenses in life discovery and other actual topics. In conclusion, It may be true that the topic of life discovery in other planet is not completely understood by most of the people, for reasons such as the lack of education or curiosity. Nevertheless, I firmly think that a non negligible amount of public money should be invested on these topics.