Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Year on year statistics are published illustrating increasing crime levels. There is no singular known cause of criminal activity, but in general it can be correlated to social, economic and educational factors. These factors are not mutually independent. In turn, the prevention of criminal activity can be enhanced by addressing these three key factors. Through the essay each one of these factors will be addressed, stating why they cause an increase of crime and in turn how they can be used to mitigate crime. Social factors cover a wide range of aspects. This includes upbringing, home environment as well as any mental issues that lead to antisocial behaviour. For example, an individual that is raised in a home environment where respect for other individuals is not a high valued trait, will in turn, not have respect for other people or their belongings. This mindset may lead to an increased willingness to commit crimes as the impact on someone else is not of importance. On the other hand, an individual raised with mutual respect and empathy will be more cognizant of how their actions affect others. Economic conditions are the most basic of the factors that influence the crime rate. If people are desperate for money, just to get by day to day, the lure of criminal activity will always be there. With criminal activity there is the attraction of "easy money" but this always comes with a high risk to the perpetrator as well as the public. Some individuals commit crime besides being in a relatively good economic condition, however, this issue will not be addressed in this essay. By ensuring the people who are in desperate need of assistance are looked after, the temptation to commit crime will be reduced. Education is the key to nearly all the issues the plague society. An individual who has the opportunity to get a good education potentially becomes an individual that can be employed. Education also provides a secondary opportunity to teach people social skills their home life may be missing. It is a well established fact that people who do not have a basic education are more likely to commit crime and be unemployed. Improving the basic education system will create more opportunities for more people to avoid criminal activity. In conclusion, crime is something that can never be eradicated from society but it can be reduced. The three main factors that are causing crime are social, economic and educational. These factors are interdependent and the only way to reduce or prevent the rise of criminal activity is to ensure all these factors are addressed through the basic needs of an individual.