Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

The increasing rate of crime is a topic of serious concern these days. There are several reasons for the same and also some measures can be taken to overcome this problem. One of the primary reason of this is unemployment. As the number of jobs available are not adequate to provide employment to the vast population, people resort to burglary and robbery to make ends meet. To control the above situation, more jobs should be created to increase the earning capacity of people. Another area of malfunction is unequal distribution of wealth. many people in India are below the poverty line. This hand to mouth situation is a precursor to criminal activities. In addition, natural calamities worsen the situation. The poor people in these rural areas who are hit by a disaster turn out to be criminals in future. In this case, government should take measures to improve their standard of living. However, psychological resistance of some people to depend on government and their subsidies also leads to crime. Moreover, offenders during their imprisonment are confined to the four walls of jail. Nothing is being done to help them improve their skills. Apparently, they serve their punishment just killing their time and mingling with co-offenders. Here government should come into action. These prisoners should be imparted with some knowledge and positive outlook which will assist them in finding job for themselves once they are released. To recapitulate, the aforementioned measures can work for creating noble citizens thereby making this world a better and safer place to live in.