Due to the rapid development and expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities.

The rate at which large grocery stores are increasing in some part of the world is incomparable with local stores. I completely agree that this will make difficult for local vendors to exist. This essay will discuss how advancement in super-marts are affecting native merchant. Firstly, in supermarkets we get more choices compared to local shops. We can compare and buy different products available which proves to be beneficial to buyers as they will get to choose from a variety of options. For example, a general store will have a diverse range of shampoos available and people can pick according to their needs and not based on availability. Secondly, this kind of general-store provides special services like a free home delivery. This will help customer to not to worry about lifting heavy shopping bags. While in the case of local shops, consumer has very limited choice and the quality of items will not be up to the mark, as the shop-keeper will not be able to import things from a distant vendor. Also, customers will not be attracted to local shops due to absence of attractive offers or services as a small businessperson cannot afford to do so. For instance, small merchants will not be able to provide discounts during holiday seasons as during that time only they will get the chance to make a profit. In conclusion, the rise in grocery chain-stores are increasing and they are attracting a good amount of customers, which is making impossible for local businesses to bid for. Therefore, it is seen that native shopkeepers will be facing challenges in their survival.