Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets, many small local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities.

Nowadays, supermarkets are growing their sales very rapidly and the local businesses are getting impacted. Many people believe that this trend will lead to the closure of the local shops and businesses and hence harm local communities. However, I completely disagree with this view and think that local communities will be benefited with the advent of the supermarkets. Many believe that native businesses are not able to compete with the supermarkets and are posing great losses. Firstly, supermarkets offer discounts on most of the items they sell because they buy from the suppliers in bulk and get better rates for the products. However, as regional vendors can't buy in bulk and have to pay more for the same products and hence can't give away discounts like supermarkets. Secondly, supermarkets sell multiple products under one roof and so buyers do not need to go to multiple places to get their necessities. Supermarkets these days offer some of the recreational activities such as cinema, play zones for kids etc. , under their roofs as well. On the other hand, I believe that local communities can benefit from the supermarkets as they will decrease the monopoly of the native vendors and will encourage them to choose from the newer processes of operating businesses instead of traditional ones. Also, native shopkeepers or businessmen do not need to worry about their very existence in the market. For example, China's local businesses very well flourish even after Walmart has opened multiple stores there. Customers would not visit supermarkets daily because there is a limited number of supermarkets in the cities and they will need to spend money to reach there. For the daily needs or some emergency needs etc. , buyers visit local shopkeepers not supermarkets. To sum up, it is very much correct that regional markets are not able to compete with the supermarkets with their existing ways of doing business. They should improve their processes and stay competitive with supermarkets. Its the local community that will benefit from this because they will get a wider range of products at cheaper prices.