Some countries spend a lot of money to make bicycle usage easier. Why is this? Is this the best solution to traffic congestion?

Many countries invest a large sum of money to ease the use of bicycles. The main reason behind this investment is that those countries think that the bicycles help to reduce traffic congestion which is a major problem in city centres. Despite the fact that the promotion of two-wheeler is one of the best solution to address this problem, it alone is not enough to solve effectively. The bicycle plays an important role in alleviating traffic jam, and the countries where suffer from the traffic congestion spend lots of money to encourage people to use the bicycle. For example, today, a few of major cities such as Amsterdam, Helsinki and Stockholm have achieved to reduce considerably the high level of traffic by both promoting cycling and investing bicycle lanes. Furthermore, it is known that such investment can improve the air quality of city centres in a great extent because bikes are more environmentally-friendly than cars, which greatly contribute to air pollution, and emit zero emission. Therefore, millions of dollars are spent on riding promotion projects by the governments. Although these projects make entirely a major contribution to reduce the traffic problems, there are also a few alternative ways to alleviate the traffic-congestion-related problem. The bicycle usage alone is not the solution because every citizen either is not able to ride the bicycle or do not prefer to use the bike. If the governments, however, dream to reduce traffic jams by up to the minimum level, they should build new transportation systems such as metro or tram and roads. Such additional projects would help to solve the traffic issues. In conclusion, some countries have spent a lot of money over recent years to address the traffic congestion problem. The problem can be reduced by financial investments made on the bicycle usage in some extent, but this is not a best solution because every citizen would not commute from home to workplace or other destinations