Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

It is argued by some that the closing of small scale businesses will cause the demise of local communities because of the rapid growth of supermarkets and the inability of small shops to compete. In my opinion, I agree that the termination of local shops will bring about an end to the local areas. Firstly, many local people cannot afford the prices of goods from these large stores. Secondly, most of these supermarkets are situated far away from rural areas. A good reason why the closure of small scale businesses will bring an end to local communities is that many people cannot afford items from large storehouses. This is because of the increase in the prices of goods sold by some large store owners, who want to get back the money paid for rent in the form of high cost of items. Consequently, many people cannot buy some of the goods they need because of the increased cost of these items. For example, more than half of large retail outlets in Lagos State sell goods that are a bit more expensive than small shops in the community. Another point to consider is that many supermarkets are situated far away from rural areas. In other words, many large stores are built in big cities, a long distance from the towns and villages. This means that people living in local areas cannot travel long distances to buy a small quantity of household goods. As a result, these people believe that the small shops can easily meet their needs, and so they decide to buy from small stores in the neighbourhood. For instance, more than half of people living in the suburbs of Ghana buy goods from the small markets around the area. In conclusion, the closure of small businesses will signal the end of local communities because of the high cost of goods from such supermarkets and the far distances created by the building of such large shops. If local businesses are given the right resources to thrive, there will be no need to close such businesses.